Carnegie Kate Greenwood medal

The Carnegie Medal is a British literary award that annually recognises one outstanding new English-language book for children or young adults. It is conferred upon the author by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP). CILIP calls it "the UK's oldest and most prestigious book award for children's writing". In 1955, the Kate Greenaway Medal was established as a companion to the Carnegie Medal. The Kate Greenaway Medal recognises "distinguished illustration in a book for children". Both awards were established and administered by the Library Association, until it was succeeded by CILIP in 2002. Nominated books must be written in English and first published in the UK during the preceding school year (September to August). Until 1969, the award was limited to books by British authors first published in England.

We are gradually building up the StoryMole website, and adding authors and their books. Therefore, not all books shown here are live yet - but we are adding them as fast as we can. Those which are live are outlined in green, and clicking will take you through to that book's page.

2019 - The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

2018 - Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean

2017 - Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

2016 - One by Sarah Crossan

2015 - Buffalo Soldier by Tanya Landman

2014 - The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks

2013 - Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

2012 - A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

2011 - Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

2010 - The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

2009 - Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd

2008 - Here Lies Arthur by Philip Reeve

2007 - Just in Case by Meg Rosoff

2005 - Tamar by Mal Peet

2004 - Millions by Frank Cottrell Boyce

2003 - A Gathering Light by Jennifer Donnelly

2002 - Ruby Holler by Sharon Creech

2001 - The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett

2000 - The Other Side of Truth by Beverley Naidoo

1999 - Postcards from No Man's Land by Aidan Chambers

1998 - Skellig by David Almond

1997 - River Boy by Tim Bowler

1996 - Junk by Melvin Burgess

1995 - Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

1994 - Whispers in the Graveyard by Theresa Breslin

1993 - Stone Cold by Robert Swindells

1992 - Flour Babies by Anne Fine

1991 - Dear Nobody by Berlie Doherty

1990 - Wolf by Gillian Cross

1989 - Goggle-Eyes by Anne Fine

1988 - A Pack of Lies by Geraldine McCaughrean

1987 - The Ghost Drum by Susan Price

1986 - Granny Was a Buffer Girl by Berlie Doherty

1985 - Storm by Kevin Crossley-Holland

1984 - The Changeover by Margaret Mahy

1983 - Handles by Jan Mark

1982 - The Haunting by Margaret Mahy

1981 - The Scarecrows by Robert Westall

1980 - City of Gold and other stories from the Old Testament by Peter Dickinson

1979 - Tulku by Peter Dickinson

1978 - The Exeter Blitz by David Rees

1977 - The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler by Gene Kemp

1976 - Thunder and Lightnings by Jan Mark

1975 - The Machine Gunners by Robert Westall

1974 - The Stronghold by Mollie Hunter

1973 - The Ghost of Thomas Kempe by Penelope Lively

1972 - Watership Down by Richard Adams

1971 - Josh by Ivan Southall

1970 - The God Beneath the Sea by Leon Garfield and Edward Blishen?

1969 - The Edge of the Cloud by K. M. Peyton

1968 - The Moon in the Cloud by Rosemary Harris

1967 - The Owl Service by Alan Garner

1966 - No prize awarded

1964 - Nordy Bank by Sheena Porter

1963 - Time of Trial by Hester Burton

1962 - The Twelve and the Genii by Pauline Clarke

1961 - A Stranger at Green Knowe by Lucy M. Boston

1960 - The Making of Man by Ian Wolfran Cornwall

1959 - The Lantern Bearers by Rosemary Sutcliff

1958 - Tom's Midnight Garden by Philippa Pearce

1957 - A Grass Rope by William Mayne

1956 - The Last Battle by C. S. Lewis

1955 - The Little Bookroom by Eleanor Farjeon

1954 - Knight Crusader by Ronald Welch (Felton Ronald Oliver)

1953 - A Valley Grows Up by Edward Osmond

1952 - The Borrowers by Mary Norton

1950 - The Lark on the Wing by Elfrida Vipont

1949 - The Story of Your Home by Agnes Allen

1948 - Sea Change by Richard Armstrong

1947 - Collected Stories for Children by Walter de la Mare

1946 - The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge

1945 - No prize awarded

1944 - The Wind on the Moon by Eric Linklater

1943 - No prize awarded

1942 - The Little Grey Men by BB (D. J. Watkins-Pitchford)

1941 - We Couldn't Leave Dinah by Mary Treadgold

1940 - Visitors from London by Kitty Barne

1939 - The Radium Woman by Eleanor Doorly

1937 - The Family from One End Street by Eve Garnett